Showers of Blessing

rain

I grew up Southern Baptist……

in North Georgia………

and my Daddy was the Pastor.

We sang hymns.

 I know all 6 verses (and all 4 parts) of Just As I Am and can probably quote page #’s from the *new* (well new in 1980)  burgundy Baptist Hymnal for at least 20 songs.  LOL!!   

The feeling I get when I pick up a hymnal, or sit at my piano with the book in front of me, or walk into a traditional service …. nostalgia!  peace!  joy! thankfulness!

What a wonderful gift my parents gave me – bringing up this child in the way of the Lord.  And as I age I return, sometimes to things that I had NO idea would be such a gift.

Counting my blessings has always been one of those things that growing up in church taught me.  This song was one of my favorites …

♫There shall be showers of blessing: This is the promise of love;

There shall be seasons refreshing, sent from the Savior above.

Showers of blessing, showers of blessing we need;

Mercy-drops ’round us are falling, but for the showers we plead.  ♫

Ezekiel 34:26 (NLT)

I will bless my people and their homes around my holy hill. And in the proper season I will send the showers they need. There will be showers of blessing.

So much of every day life is spent just dodging the arrows of strife, crying out to the Lord, questioning every decision and move … thanking Him for letting the mercy drops fall all around us.

But  God says that in the proper season He will bless us and send the showers we need.   Are we looking for that season?  Is it maybe already here?  Are we missing it?

Today I dare you to look at this verse and remember that YOUR CREATOR, the Father of Lights wants to show you off as the crown of His creation.  I dare you to  take the time to remember what He thinks about you and says about you…… then  see how the showers of blessing are falling all around you even today.

James 1: 16-18 (MSG)

So, my very dear friends, don’t get thrown off course. Every desirable and beneficial gift comes out of heaven. The gifts are rivers of light cascading down from the Father of Light. There is nothing deceitful in God,  nothing two-faced, nothing fickle. He brought us to life using the true Word, showing us off as the crown of all his creatures.

Today I changed my photo here at the blog.  Divorce and remarriage are HARD!  There are a lot of “lessons” and things to learn.  But today I saw this and I saw the showers of blessing that have fallen on me.  Pictured with me are my Knight and our 9 blessings!  

Praise God for His abundance, His showers, His love!!
Source: http://www.hymnal.net/hymn.php/h/260#ixzz2qUwP3Aax

2 responses to “Showers of Blessing

  1. Love it, friend!
    We need to take down our umbrellas to receive the showers of his blessings.
    My pastor spoke on this a while back…here is a clip…

  2. thank you, I needed that today. Love to you and your blessings. 🙂

Leave a Reply

