THIS is the “norm” for Sundays at 6

This is a short excerpt from my personal journal 2 years ago.

It’s been 2 years since God alerted us to this realization that transition from one home to another, especially for children of divorce, is difficult.  We now choose to stop and pray every Sunday at 6 – a “typical” transition time for American children to go from one home to another.

Schedules, rules, food, parenting and so much more are different.

For a few days my children have lived outside of my “way of life”. They have had time to adapt to new circumstances that brought new rules. And now, in the matter of a car ride, my expectation is that they just remember the way WE do things.

My irritation arises as my plan for the evening slowly turns into discipline and instruction. I quickly forget how my heart longed to just hear their sweet voices as I shush them for the hundredth time. I have to slip away to get a grip on my own emotions, I seek refuge for myself and am reminded that I have security in Christ.
Proverbs 14:26 Those who fear the Lord are secure; he will be a refuge for their children.
Today as I take a few moments to pray for the children struggling through the life of divorced parents I can’t help but be thankful that my own children have a place of refuge in the Lord. My choices tossed my children into this sea of difference, a life split between two homes; and now my choices have to center around calming that storm.

Only through God in me, renewing me, can I be used in the healing of this hurt.
“How precious is Your lovingkindness, O God! And the children of men take refuge in the shadow of Your wings” (Psalm 36:7)

Thank you God for covering these children in the shadow of your wings. Father, I pray that you bring gentleness into the parents as they send or receive their children tonight. Thank you for giving us instruction in Proverbs 15 that “a gentle answer deflects anger”. I pray that each of us have “the heart of the godly [that] thinks carefully before speaking”. You alone God are our “refuge and strength, A very present help in trouble” (Psalm 46:1). I pray Lord that we can be an example to our children, turning to you in every circumstance. Tonight I pray that these precious children feel peace as they enter into new, or old, rules and schedules. Thank you God that we can call on Your name and have confidence that You hear the cries of our heart and You have a plan for each of these children, a plan to prosper them, not bring them harm. Be magnified oh God! Amen

Leave a comment